Winter in Walkerville: 1900s


cold enough for ya?

So, we finally got some snow that is actually staying on the ground more than a couple of hours. Since winter appears to have officially arrived, I thought I would post some photos I’ve been saving for a snowy day. Sent to me by Charlie Fox they provide a fascinating peek at how the women of Walkerville faced the long cold winters in the early 1900s. Charlie’s mom stands in the centre in the bottom photo.

These ladies either lived on Monmouth Road (bottom photo was taken in the backyard of one of the row houses that still stand today, thank goodness) or nearby.

Having lived in one of those old Monmouth row houses before it was renovated, I know all too well that the only source of heat was in the dining room. Every morning there would be ice in the bath tub. (Seriously.) I carried a Kero-Sun heater around the house to try to make up for the lack of central heating (and electric light).

I can’t help but wonder whether these women wore their furs indoors as well as outdoors.

Stay warm everyone!

About Elaine Weeks

How history was taught in my day: memorize lots of boring dates and facts, watch corny old black & white history films. There was one bright spot, however. Grade 9 history at Walkerville Collegiate with Miss Falls (Georgina) when she taught a section on local history and took us on a field trip to explore some of Windsor's built heritage. Due to a peculiar series of events, celebrating local history became part of my business. My company, (partner is Chris Edwards,) Walkerville Publishing Inc., launched "The Walkerville Times" in 1999, which in due course became "The Times Magazine". Our goal was to make history real. I am a writer, editor, blogger, photographer, mother, wife, sister, activist, traveller, gardener, knitter, masters track & field competitor (when I have time), glass is nearly full person.
This entry was posted in Fashion, People, Walkerville, Windsor Now, Windsor Then and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Winter in Walkerville: 1900s

  1. I read your entire blog and found it facinating. I originally was looking for online information about Charl Avenue, Windsor, Ontario to see what was formerly located in that area in the late 1800’s or early 1900’s. Would you know if there is any info on that area or what was located there? I use to live there and when I moved in, I always dug up tons of stuff, like there may have been a landfill there before? I also noticed when I moved in the area – “SEVERAL” people had cancer and two of my next door neighbors had passed away on one side of me. The other side of me, a boy was born with a physical challenge. Many others also had Cancer in the neighborhood. I heard there formerly was huge barrels of oil located in that area, although the items that my neighbor and I dug up looked like assembly parts of some sort. You could dig anywhere in the yard and find stuff, same with my neighbor – so just wondering what was there??? Thank you if you know of any information.

  2. Daisy Dell says:

    My Grandparents lived at 724 Monmouth Road and I remember the heater in the dining room directly below the upstairs vent. I visited regularly overnight and I remember the upstair chilly in the morning but not unbearable,,possibly being a townhome eliminated one outside wall?
    Great photos!!

Leave a Reply

